

AITKIN COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

March 12, 2024

9:00 a.m.

Government Center Board Room

Regular Session Minutes

1.A CALL TO ORDER

Chair Wedel called the meeting to order at 9:01 a.m.

Attendee Name	Title	Status
J. Mark Wedel	District #1	Present
Laurie Westerlund	District #2	Absent
Travis Leiviska	District #3	Present
Bret Sample	District #4	Present
Michael Kearney	District #5	Present
Jessica Seibert	County Administrator	Present
April Kellerman	Administrative Assistant	Present

1.B PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

1.C APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Motion to: Approve the agenda, as amended.

RESULT:

APPROVED (4 TO 0)

MOVER: SECONDER: Commissioner Bret Sample Commissioner Travis Leiviska

Item 7A moved to 7B, adding new 7A item

1.D Citizens Public Comment by:

Steven Massey from New Richmond, WI addressed the Board regarding the Discretionary EAW petition.

2 CONSENT AGENDA

Motion to: Approve the Consent Agenda.

RESULT:

APPROVED (4 TO 0)

MOVER:

Commissioner Michael Kearney

SECONDER:

Commissioner Bret Sample

A) Correspondence File-

February 27, 2024 - March 11, 2024

B) Approve County Board Minutes-

February 27, 2024

C) Approve Electronic Funds Transfers

Total \$1,454,426.13

D) Approve Auditor Vouchers-

Auditor Warrants 02.23.24

General	\$19,271.20	R&B	\$13,141.13	HHS	\$2,632.60	Trust	\$756.00
2						Total	\$35,800.93

E) Approve-

Affidavit for Duplicate of Lost Warrant

F) Approve Commissioner's Vouchers

Commissioner Warrants 03.01.24

	Commodicate Warrante Colonia							
	General	\$119,405.29	Reserves	\$36,102.95	R&B	\$31,497.03	Unorg. Town.	\$2,465.88
I	HHS	\$17,987.34	State	\$6,298.50	Trust	\$18,239.37	Forest	\$2,671.38
ı	LLCC	\$26,021,39	Parks	\$75.88	COVID	\$1.278.00	Total	\$262.043.01

G) Approve-

County Administrator Performance Evaluation Summary

H) Approve Auditor Vouchers-

Auditor Warrants Production Tax 02.28.24

Townships \$110,733.00 Total \$110,733.00

I) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections-

ELAN 02.01.24

HHS \$1,214.10	HHS \$22.50	General \$2,470.51	Forest (\$78.43)
			Total \$3,628.68

J) Approve Auditor Vouchers-

Auditor Warrants Gas Tax 03.01.24

R&B \$507,274.81 Total \$507,274.81

K) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections-

Manual Warrants 02.29.24

General \$1,077.41 Taxes \$199.66 Total \$1,277.07

L) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections-

 Manual Warrants - HHS MN Care Pmt
 Total
 \$110.19

M) Adopt Resolution-

Soo Line Crossing Easement

N) Adopt Resolution-

Application to Make Retail Sales of Tobacco Products

O) Approve-

Letter of Support for LCCMR proposal from the 5 RELCs

P) Approve-

Facility Improvement - McGrath Diesel Fuel Tank

Regular Agenda

3A Mark Jeffers – Economic Development Coordinator

Motion to:

Approve Award Grant: Business Development & Recreation Grant

RESULT:

APPROVED (4 TO 0)

MOVER: SECONDER: Commissioner Bret Sample Commissioner Travis Leiviska

3B Mark Jeffers – Economic Development Coordinator

Motion to:

Approve Award Grant: Naturally Better Signage Request, Hill City

RESULT:

APPROVED (4 TO 0)

MOVER:

Commissioner Michael Kearney

SECONDER:

Commissioner Travis Leiviska

4A Andrew Carlstrom – Environmental Services Director

Motion to:

Adopt Resolution - Discretionary EAW - Gun Lake Family Campground

RESULT:

APPROVED (4 TO 0)

MOVER:

Commissioner Michael Kearney

SECONDER:

Commissioner Bret Sample

5A Jessica Seibert – County Administrator

Informational Only

Administrator Updates

HRA Board Meeting, MARCO Call, MACA Legislative Call, Courts Symposium, Data Practices Webinar, ATV Committee, EAW Committee, Facilities, MACA Regional Call, "Coffee with Jessica", One-on-One Meetings

6A Board of Commissioners

Informational Only

Commissioners Committee Reports

ATV Committee, East Central Regional Library Board, Aquatic Invasive Species, EAW, HHS Advisory, Facilities, Natural Resources Advisory Committee

7A Jessica Seibert - County Administrator

Motion to:

Schedule Public Meeting

RESULT:

APPROVED (4 TO 0)

MOVER:

Commissioner Travis Leiviska

SECONDER:

Commissioner Bret Sample

7B Jessica Seibert – County Administrator

Informational Only

Closed Session per MN Statute 13D.05, Subd. 3

Motion to Close Meeting Under MN Statute 13D.05, Subd. 3

Motion made at 9:43 a.m.

MOVER: SECONDER: Commissioner Bret Sample

Commissioner Travis Leiviska

Motion to Reopen Meeting

Motion made at 10:32 a.m.

MOVER:

Commissioner Michael Kearney

SECONDER:

Commissioner Travis Leiviska

Motion to Adjourn

Motion made at 10:32 a.m.

MOVER:

Commissioner Bret Sample

SECONDER:

Commissioner Travis Leiviska

Next Meeting:

Tuesday, March 26, 2024

J. Mark Wedel, Board Chair

Aitkin County Board of Commissioner

Jessica Seibert

County Administrator